Fire and rescue service colleagues recognised in New Year Honours

The National Fire Chiefs Council (NFCC) has welcomed this year’s New Year Honours List which includes a number of people from fire and rescue services.

The list also includes those who currently or have previously played significant national roles for and on behalf of NFCC.

NFCC Chair Mark Hardingham was one of the first to congratulate them. He said:

“My heartfelt congratulations go to each and every one of our fire and rescue service colleagues that have received well-deserved recognition for their service, dedication and leadership.

“The list includes fire and rescue personnel from a variety of different roles, and I am delighted to see them being honoured for their contribution both locally and nationally with NFCC.

“This is also a fitting time to recognise the outstanding work of all fire and rescue service colleagues, and the support and service they give to their communities throughout the year.”

The list below highlights people from fire and rescue services who have been named in the New Year Honours.



Philip John LOACH QFSM, Lately Chief Fire Officer, West Midlands FRS. For services to Fire and Rescue.



Janet Shirley DYER, Catering Manager, National Fire Service College. For services to the community in Moreton-in-Marsh, Gloucestershire.

Euros Hefin EDWARDS, Watch Manager, Mid & West Wales FRS. For services to Fire and Rescue.

Sarah Louise GOODALL, Watch Manager (Fire Control), West Yorkshire FRS. For services to Fire and Rescue.

Geoffrey LOWE, Crew Manager, Norfolk FRS. For services to the community in Norfolk.

Christopher MARSEY, Watch Manager, Cleveland FRS. For services to the community in North Yorkshire.

Carl SMITH, Advanced Paramedic in Critical Care, East of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust, Head, Clinical Development for Emergency and Critical Care, College of Paramedics and Firefighter, Norfolk Fire and Rescue Service. For services to the NHS and to Fire and Rescue.

Charlotte Jessica STACEY, On Call Firefighter, Oxfordshire CC FRS. For services to the community in Oxfordshire.

Ronald WRIGHT, Fleet Technical Officer, Northumberland FRS. For Public Service.

Pauline YOUNG, Lately Watch Manager, Essex County FRS. For services to the community in Great Baddow, Essex.


King’s Fire Service Medal (KFSM)

Samuel Benjamin ALLISON, Station Manager, Dorset & Wiltshire FRS

Phillip GARRIGAN, O.B.E., Chief Fire Officer, Merseyside FRS

David GIBSON, On Call Watch Manager, Scottish FRS

Iain MORRIS, Head of Asset Management, Scottish FRS

Andrew ROE, Commissioner, London Fire Brigade

David Jonathan RUSSEL, Chief Fire Officer, Greater Manchester FRS

Thomas Stanley TORBITT, Watch Commander, Northern Ireland FRS

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More